Pictiúr: Contemporary Children’s Book Illustrators from Ireland (Past Laureate Project)

Pictiúr with Niamh Sharkey

Pictiúr, was the largest single exhibition of contemporary Irish children’s book illustration ever assembled and which was curated by then Laureate na nÓg, Niamh Sharkey, featured 42 pieces by 21 illustrators. The exhibition of work toured around Ireland following its highly successful tours of Europe and Ireland in 2013/2014. During its European tour as part of the Culture Connects International Culture Programme to celebrate Ireland’s Presidency of the European Council, it was seen by more than 25,000 people in four countries. In September 2013, Pictiúr began its Irish tour with visits to Draíocht Arts Centre in Blanchardstown, Galway Arts Centre as part of the Baboró Children’s Festival and the Irish Museum of Modern Art, Kilmainham.

In March 2014 the exhibition visited the Northern Ireland Assembly at Stormont, before travelling to Glór Arts Centre in Ennis, Co Clare. In September it visited Lismore Castle, Co Waterford, then travelled to the Linenhall Arts Centre in Castlebar and the new Library Headquarters in Dún Laoghaire, Co Dublin. The exhibition included illustrations from books written in English and Irish.

During its European tour, which was supported by Culture Ireland under its Culture Connects EU Presidency funding stream, Pictiúr visited the Festival of Young Readers, Palais Auersperg, Vienna, Austria and was viewed by more than 13,000 children. It also visited the Bologna Children’s Book Fair in Italy, the European Parliament in Brussels and the Leuven Institute for Ireland in Europe.

You can view a short film about the European tour here. A pdf of the exhibition catalogue is available here.


Featured Pictiúr Illustrators:



Lily Bernard  Olivia Golden  PJ Lynch  Steve Simpson
Alan Clarke  Chris Haughton  Oisín McGann  Kevin Waldron
Michael Emberley  Paul Howard Mary Murphy  Olwyn Whelan
Tatyana Feeney  Oliver Jeffers Donough O’Malley  Andrew Whitson
Marie-Louise Fitzpatrick  Anita Jeram Niamh Sharkey
Adrienne Geoghegan  Chris Judge